Montgomery College print logo
InsideMC-FACTS-3A

Wednesday, October 12

Features

Display Image

Germantown Students Make Over Rooms for Critically Ill Children in Atlantic City

Need to Know

Display Image

Take the IMAG Survey for Faculty, Staff, Administrators

Other

Display Image

Reminder: 2011 World of Montgomery Festival

College/Campus News

Display Image

Collegewide Community Service Week

IT@MC

Display Image

Information Technology Institute Computer Software Courses

Library News

Display Image

New Writing in the Disciplines Libguide

MC Events

Display Image

MathTalk: The Story of Pi

Professional Development

Wellness News

Display Image

Avoid the Flu--Get Your Flu Shot on Friday, 10/14/11 at MC-Rockville!

HRSTM

Display Image

VSP's EnVision Newsletter for October

It's Academic

Display Image

The Latest Edition of the Curriculum Newsletter is Available Online.

Arts at MC

Display Image

The Legendary Hugh Cornwell

MC Books & More

Display Image

Last Day to Purchase Used Textbooks for Fall Semester is Thursday, Oct. 13

Campus Sports News

Display Image

MC Scoreboard

Accolades

Display Image

MC History Professor Chronicles History of National Urban League in Recent Publication

Life Events

Staff Senate

Display Image

Staff Senate to Meet on Wednesday, October 12 at TP/SS Campus, ST 301

What is LGBTQ?

Display Image

Category: College/Campus News

Published: Oct 12 2011 12:00AM

LGBTQ represents a diverse range of gender expressions and sexual and affectional orientations.

Traditionally, this stands for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, and queer or questioning. However, identity labels vary considerably, with new identities such as pansexual, asexual, and androgynous emerging, even as some people reject the limitations of any such identity label. When we engage in LGBT advocacy, we not only speak for the civil rights of sexual minorities we also strike a blow for greater freedom for all people. We envision a world in which we can be as feminine and masculine as we choose, a world in which we are free to engage in consensual, loving relationships as we choose, a world which embraces diverse family forms, and a world in which a well-informed, authentic sexuality is a basic human right.

Contacts:

<b>Germantown Campus</b>
<i>Faculty contacts:</i> Carla Witcher (English), carla.witcher@montgomerycollege.edu; Page Whittenburg (AELP, Speech), page.whittenburg@montgomerycollege.edu
<i>LGBTQ Student Group Adviser:</i> Sonja Fisher (Education), sonja.fisher@montgomerycollege.edu

<b>Rockville Campus</b>
<i>Faculty Contact:</i> Zachary Benavidez (English), zachary.benavidez@montgomerycollege.edu
<i>LGBTQ Student Group Adviser:</i> Deborah Stearns (Psychology), deborah.stearns@montgomerycollege.edu

<b>Takoma Park/Silver Spring Campus</b>
<i>Faculty Contact:</i> Rita Kranidis (English), rita.kranidis@montgomeryollege.edu
<i>LGBTQ Student Group Adviser:</i> Loraine Hutchins (Health, Women's Studies), loraine.hutchins@montgomerycollege.edu

Friend MC Pride and Allies on Facebook!

Related Media

  1. mcpride.pub
  2. MC-Pride-and-Allies.jpg


MyMC
Authentication Required



Montgomery College

Montgomery County, MD

240-567-5000

©2016, Montgomery College

Top