Montgomery College print logo

Wednesday, October 12

Features

Display Image

Germantown Students Make Over Rooms for Critically Ill Children in Atlantic City

Need to Know

Display Image

Cashier's, Accounts Receivable Office to Have Delayed Openings in October

it@mc

Display Image

Information Technology Institute Computer Software Courses

Other

Display Image

Buy Hershey Park in the Dark and Christmas Candylane Tickets

Professional Development

Arts at MC

Display Image

Launching the Inaugural Issue of "The Sligo Journal"

MC Events

HRSTM

Display Image

VSP's EnVision Newsletter for October

Library News

Display Image

October is National Information Literacy Awareness Month

College/Campus News

Display Image

Collegewide Community Service Week

MC Books & More

Display Image

Bagels for Books Returns! Faculty Textbook Adoptions are Due to Deans No Later than Friday, October 14

Campus Sports News

Display Image

MC Scoreboard

It's Academic

Accolades

Display Image

MC History Professor Chronicles History of National Urban League in Recent Publication

Life Events

Wellness News

Display Image

Avoid the Flu--Get Your Flu Shot on Friday, 10/14/11 at MC-Rockville!

Equity and Diversity Office

Display Image

Reminder: 2011 World of Montgomery Festival

Staff Senate

Display Image

Staff Senate to Meet on Wednesday, October 12 at TP/SS Campus, ST 301

What is LGBTQ?

Display Image

Category: College/Campus News

Published: Oct 12 2011 12:00AM

LGBTQ represents a diverse range of gender expressions and sexual and affectional orientations.

Traditionally, this stands for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, and queer or questioning. However, identity labels vary considerably, with new identities such as pansexual, asexual, and androgynous emerging, even as some people reject the limitations of any such identity label. When we engage in LGBT advocacy, we not only speak for the civil rights of sexual minorities we also strike a blow for greater freedom for all people. We envision a world in which we can be as feminine and masculine as we choose, a world in which we are free to engage in consensual, loving relationships as we choose, a world which embraces diverse family forms, and a world in which a well-informed, authentic sexuality is a basic human right.

Contacts:

<b>Germantown Campus</b>
<i>Faculty contacts:</i> Carla Witcher (English), carla.witcher@montgomerycollege.edu; Page Whittenburg (AELP, Speech), page.whittenburg@montgomerycollege.edu
<i>LGBTQ Student Group Adviser:</i> Sonja Fisher (Education), sonja.fisher@montgomerycollege.edu

<b>Rockville Campus</b>
<i>Faculty Contact:</i> Zachary Benavidez (English), zachary.benavidez@montgomerycollege.edu
<i>LGBTQ Student Group Adviser:</i> Deborah Stearns (Psychology), deborah.stearns@montgomerycollege.edu

<b>Takoma Park/Silver Spring Campus</b>
<i>Faculty Contact:</i> Rita Kranidis (English), rita.kranidis@montgomeryollege.edu
<i>LGBTQ Student Group Adviser:</i> Loraine Hutchins (Health, Women's Studies), loraine.hutchins@montgomerycollege.edu

Friend MC Pride and Allies on Facebook!

Related Media

  1. mcpride.pub
  2. MC-Pride-and-Allies.jpg


MyMC
Authentication Required



Montgomery College

Montgomery County, MD

240-567-5000

©2014, Montgomery College

Top