Montgomery College print logo

Dr. Greg Wahl, Professor of the Year, Receives Proclamation from County Council President

Display Image

Category: Features

Published: 2014-01-29 00:00:01.000

Montgomery College Professor Dr. Greg Wahl was issued a proclamation Tuesday by the president of the Montgomery County Council, Craig Rice. Dr. Wahl was joined in the chamber by Dr. Pollard, Dr. Sanjay Rai and Dr. Brad Stewart.

Wahl's compassion for and keen interest in his students' success is what led him to be named 2013 Maryland Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) in November.

"I'm really not doing anything differently than my faculty colleagues, and all of the things you just heard (in the proclamation) are what they are doing every day at Montgomery College," Dr. Wahl said during the ceremony, held in the County Council Office Building. "So it truly is a great honor to be here today on behalf of my colleagues because in my mind they are all standing beside me."

Dr. Wahl came to the College in 2003 as director of the Writing, Reading, and Language Center at the Takoma Park/Silver Spring Campus. In 2007 he joined the English Department, where he currently teaches credit-level composition and developmental writing, including accelerated sections; themed learning communities such as "Reading and Writing about Popular Culture"; and sections with extra grammar instruction.

From 2009 to this fall, he coordinated the developmental writing program at the campus, facilitating the teaching of 10-20 sections of developmental writing courses per semester; running the portfolio placement process; designing outcomes assessments; and leading work groups for the realignment of the collegewide English composition sequence, including innovative programs to accelerate developmental students to credit courses.

Dr. Wahl is active in helping to secure honors and scholarships for MC students. He is an advisor for the highly competitive Jack Kent Cooke transfer scholarship, which has produced one winner for the campus. He has been an LGBT Safe Zone participant at Montgomery College, and has designed and implemented curriculum for the National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy. He is a national Science Education for New Civic Engagements and Responsibilities Leadership Fellow, faculty advisor for Cengage Learning TeamUP Faculty Programs, and a member of various advisory committees and working groups on writing in the disciplines and the teaching of writing.

In addition to his classroom work, Wahl has given conference presentations on hip-hop, country, and punk music; fiction and poetry; the films of Clint Eastwood; and Egyptian feminist author Nawal El-Saadawi. He has published reviews and original scholarship in numerous journals and anthologies.

The US Professors of the Year program salutes the most outstanding undergraduate instructors in the country--and those who excel as teachers and influence the lives and careers of their students. It is recognized as one of the most prestigious awards honoring professors.

This is the seventh time in 10 years--and the fifth year in a row--that a Montgomery College professor has been named Maryland Professor of the Year.

Dr. Mary Furgol, a history professor, received the honor in 2003. In 2006, Joanne Naake, an English professor, won the award. In 2009, the award went to Chemistry Professor Susan Bontems, followed by Dr. Deborah Stearns, a psychology professor; Music Professor Dawn Avery; and Math Professor John Hamman, respectively.

Related Media

  1. ProfWahlProclamationsmall.gif
  2. ProfWahlProclamation.jpg

Authentication Required

Montgomery College

Montgomery County, MD


©2020, Montgomery College